Kwang-yul Cha Stem Cell Prize

The Kwang-yul Cha Stem Cell Prize established in 2011
The American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM), the highest authority in reproductive medicine, established the Kwang-yul Cha Stem Cell Prize in recognition of his world-class achievements in stem cell and fertility research.  This prize was created to promote innovative research on stem cell technologies and motivate young researchers.

2014 Winner
Prof. Carlos Simón Vallés

Carlos Simón Vallés, who is serving as a professor at
the University of Valencia Department of Obstetrics
and Gynecology and is a clinical professor at Stanford
University, was selected as the 2014 winner of the
Kwang-yul Cha Stem Cell Prize. Professor Vallés has
been studying embryo implantation mechanisms and
reproductive cells since 1991. He was also recognized
as the scientist who conducted the most proactive
studies from 2003 to 2005. His research is focused
on proving his hypothesis that human somatic cells
can be reprogrammed as reproductive cells. CHA
Medical Group and ASRM selected Professor Vallés as
the winner of the Kwang-yul Cha Stem Cell Prize after
vigorously evaluating the potential of his research.

2013 Winner
Dr. David E Reichman and Dr. Erin Foran Wolff

Dr. David E. Reichman of the ‘Ronal O. Perelman and
Claudia Cohen Center’ at Cornell University and Dr.
Erin Foran Wolff of the Eunice Kennedy Shriver
National Institute of Child Health and Human
Development were selected as the first winners of
the Kwang-yul Cha Stem Cell Prize. Dr. Reichman
gained international recognition for his paper ‘Clinical
application of heart endothelial cells derived from
human embryonic stem cells’ and Dr. Wolff greatly
contributed to the development of reproductive
medicine with her paper ‘Stem cell transplantation as
treatment for premature menopause’.

scroll to top button